A new dawn…

A while ago, I pitched a kind of “Anthony Bourdain” style travel log show to some pretty high powered TV folks who liked the idea, but didn’t pick it up.  I figured that the places I go, and the people I meet going there would be of great interest to folks.  I still believe that’s true.  The truth of the matter is, I don’t travel to REALLY exotic places, with some notable exceptions, definitely don’t have the budget to hit high end restaurants all the time, but I’m fortunate to still be touring to amazing places, and hang out with some of the most amazing folks you’ll ever meet in person.   Some are millionaires, some are other working musicians, some are teachers, business people, retired folks, young people, reporters, activists,and some are  “Lobsters” (a code word for REALLY interesting individuals). I’ve decided to tell their stories, and mine, here for now.  This is the first installment of my new direction here.  I’ll still be writing about the Adirondacks, and many stories will be framed up here, but it’s time to expand the horizons of this blog,… so here we go.

It’s taken me a long time to realize, I’m primarily a writer.  I’m an OK guitar player, although I have many friends who are far better at it than I, (and Taylor Guitars certainly sent me down the road of receiving all kinds of recognition for whatever I’ve been able to contribute along those lines).  My sainted wife has tried to tell me that for years… (Just the facts.)

I’ve performed, written, and traveled , telling the stories of the Adirondacks, and the people I love here from Anchorage to Berlin for almost thirty years.  This week I’m playing at 10 different schools in the North Country, and  at the Adirondack Museum.  It’s not just about the performances though.  Today I played at Lisbon Central School for the 4th – 8th grade classes, about 200 students in all.  The principal told me that 70% of the kids I performed for today live under the poverty level.  His greatest concern was not that they “meet the standards” put forth by the government, but rather that they had something to eat before they came to school, and have some idea where they’re going to be sleeping tonight.  This revelation isn’t the exception, it’s the rule.

“Live from the  Nirvana known as the Adirondacks,… it’s Reality.”

About adkchrisshaw

Adirondack singer, songwriter, and storyteller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new dawn…

  1. Karen a Opalka says:

    I LOVE this!!!!!

Leave a Reply

